The Not-So-Instagrammable Food Experiences

From perfectly presentable high teas to mouth-watering brunches, cafes and restaurants are far more aware than ever about the need for their food to more than just pretty. No… it’s gotta be picture-perfect.

Sure food presentation is important but its reached new-found heights over the last few years. Creating photogenic food isn’t a task just for advertisers and professional chefs. It’s now your task too as the everyday person.

Seeing snaps of different culinary creations on Instagram does get me excited… and hungry… and I thank all the people who have created amazing-looking food and shared that with me and others.

However – I must confess – the food I’ve made and served to others hasn’t always been instagrammable. In fact, some of the dishes have looked quite the opposite.

Tasty? I think so.

Photogenic? Nope, not really.

Shareable? Yes.

My cooking may not be photogenic to be shared around on social media, but I know for a fact that my food is shareable and appreciated by family and friends. Even the simple snacks.

Food seriously tastes so much better when shared in real life. I don’t know why that is exactly but there’s really just something special when people gather together around food.

I remember the Halloween dinner parties, the Christmas feasts, the summer barbecues as well as some of simple dinners at home… I also remember the expressions on strangers’ faces when I’ve served the food made and prepared for them by volunteers who want to make sure they don’t go hungry that night.

All these moments have been etched into my mind and I’m grateful for these memories around food.

SO… use food as the means to create new cherished and shared experiences that go above and beyond the perfect looking snaps on Instagram.

Whether it be cooking dinner with and for others (or having others cook and share their food with me – thanks everyone!), these are moments I’m sure will stay with me for life and I’m sure I’m not the only one who has these experiences.

By all means take photos of your food if you wish, but why not include the people gathered around and enjoying the food in your next snap as well? Capture the expressions on their faces – whether good or bad! It’s a risk but do it! 😛

Cook! Eat! Enjoy!

Share and remember these food experiences 🙂

Leave a comment